Sunday, September 22, 2013

Black Patriots and Loyalists a 2013 American Book of the Year of the Before Columbus Foundation

The Raymond House • 655 -13th Street • Suite 302 • Oakland, California 94612 • (510) 268-9775
September 19, 2013

The Before Columbus Foundation announces the
Winners of the Thirty-Fourth Annual
Ceremonies, November 23, 2013

Oakland, CA—The Before Columbus Foundation announces the Winners of the Thirty-Fourth Annual AMERICAN BOOK AWARDS. The 2013 American Book Award winners will be formally recognized on Saturday, November 23, 2013, at the Miami Book Fair International, in the Auditorium of Miami Dade College, Wolfson Campus. This event is open to the public.

The American Book Awards were created to provide recognition for outstanding literary achievement from the entire spectrum of America's diverse literary community. The purpose of the awards is to recognize literary excellence without limitations or restrictions. There are no categories, no nominees, and therefore no losers. The award winners range from well-known and established writers to under-recognized authors and first works. There are no quotas for diversity, the winners list simply reflects it as a natural process. The Before Columbus Foundation views American culture as inclusive and has always considered the term “multicultural” to be not a description of various categories, groups, or “special interests,” but rather as the definition of all of American literature. The Awards are not bestowed by an industry organization, but rather are a writers’ award given by other writers.

The 2013 American Book Award Winners are:

Will Alexander, Singing In Magnetic Hoofbeat: Essays, Prose, Texts, Interviews, and a Lecture,
Essay Press

Philip P. Choy, San Francisco Chinatown: A Guide To Its History & Architecture, City Lights

Amanda Coplin, The Orchardist, Harper Collins

Natalie Diaz, When My Brother Was An Aztec, Copper Canyon Press

Louise Erdrich, The Round House, Harper Collins

Alan Gilbert, Black Patriots and Loyalists: Fighting for Emancipation in the War for Independence, University of Chicago

Judy Grahn, A Simple Revolution: The Making of an Activist Poet, Aunt Lute Books

Joy Harjo, Crazy Brave: A Memoir, W.W. Norton & Co.

Demetria Martinez, The Block Captain's Daughter, University of Oklahoma Press

Daniel Abdal-Hayy Moore, Blood Songs, The Ecstatic Exchange

D. G. Nanouk Okpik, Corpse Whale, University of Arizona Press

Seth Rosenfeld, Subversives: The FBI’s War On Student Radicals and Reagan's Rise to Power, Farrar, Strauss & Giroux

Christopher B. Teuton, Cherokee Stories of the Turtle Island Liar's Club, University of North Carolina

Lew Welch, Ring of Bone: Collected Poems, City Lights

Lifetime Achievement:

Ivan Argüelles
Greil Marcus
Floyd Salas

Justin Desmangles
Chair, Before Columbus Foundation
655 13th St. #302
Oakland, Ca.


The spirit of the Before Columbus Foundation is inclusive, recognizing the writings of and experiences of those who have suffered from the Founding Amnesias about America's genocides and ethnic cleanings. As I am also working deeply on the efforts to make peace and justified resistance of Native Americans before, during and after Sand Creek and in the second Civil War, this award is especially meaningful.

1 comment:

digital marketer said...

I see your blog regularly. Your blog is very useful for us.
If you are screaming out “pest control north london” you’ve come to the most elite pest control north london.... Click here

Post a Comment